Song for Today: The Lion’s Roar by First Aid Kit.

Random thoughts for today:

I high-fived a drunk man on the way to work today (at 07.00).  Walking under a velvety navy sky.  Perfect crescent moon.  The cold making my nose run even more.  Listening to Nils Frahm, who made me tear up, and nearly fall asleep, so I switched back to something slightly less traditionally beautiful and more buoyant (the song was You, played on 6 Music last night.  Fitting.  Listen).

I am constantly getting mistaken for someone else.  Patients and their relatives always ask: “Have I seen you on this ward?  I’ve met you before, haven’t I?”  And yet, no.  So I have a double.  And I was thinking, on my way home, what if my double did something really terrible and a mugshot went out and people thought it was me and I got arrested?  I mean, those are just tired, ill, post-work fatigue thoughts whirring around, but still.  It sounds like a (bad, probably) film.

So today’s song is one that I have fallen in love with recently, as is often the case.  Last week (or possibly this week, I have lost track of the days) I heard the song ‘Emmylou’ on the radio and immediately was like OMGWTF I love this.  Even though it’s not particularly brilliant, or special, and actually is quite syrupy in a slightly Taylor Swift way.  But, you know, music.  And emotions.  You can’t control what grabs you.  So I downloaded their albums on Spotify and ‘my’ song, The Lion’s Roar, kept poking me in different ways until it became one of those songs that I end up skipping back to as soon as it’s finished, and then eventually end up sticking on repeat for a few hours (seriously, I do this).  Something about the song just sounds really…organic.  Not in a Boden-wearing, Organix rice cracker-feeding Brighton mummy way.  I don’t even know in what way I mean, quite honestly.  (Shouldn’t really be writing this but I want to, even if I can’t say what I want to say because I am SO FREAKING TIRED).  Just listen to it and if you like it, great!  If you don’t, oh well, but you might enjoy the hot Swedish girls writhing around in the forest.

Must go to bed now.  (And in another random thought: going to bed before midnight is SERIOUSLY where it’s at.  Dudes.  It’s BRILLIANT.  I mean, I know that everyone already knows this, but I am usually a night owl and I have been making myself turn lights off by 23.30.  And it helps slightly in the mornings!  Who knew?  Well, everyone apart from me, obviously, but even I knew it really.  Just don’t like going to bed early.  Now I do!  Maybe one day I won’t have to force it either.  Honestly.  Loquacious.  One word for it…)

And I’m a goddamn coward, but then again so are you
And the lion’s roar, the lion’s roar
Has me evading and hollering for you
And I never really knew what to do

Leave a Reply

