Song for today: Serenade by Emiliana Torrini.

I fell in love with Emiliana Torrini in either 2000 or 2001, I can’t remember which.  Her voice first captured my attention; so earnest and childlike, and utterly endearing, a perfect match for the dreaminess of the music flowing beneath it.  Because of this a lot of her songs sounds slightly shimmery and hazy, like early morning sunlight (having said that, I haven’t listened to an album of hers since Fisherman’s Woman, which I should remedy).  I used to be obsessed with Unemployed in Summertime, and Love in the Time of Science is still the only album of hers that I physically own, shoved in a cd wallet somewhere like all the others that I took to university, back in another lifetime.

I haven’t listened to her for years and the other day ended up being drawn to her again, because I wanted something that I hadn’t listened to recently.  Something that would be soothing and meditative; something that would touch the sad and lonely and scared part of me in a way that nothing else managed to.  I gave Fisherman’s Woman a spin (or the equivalent in digital music terms) and this song immediately made me feel slightly more calm, like the effect of a mother singing a lullaby to her child.  Which is, basically, what I need right now – to feel mothered and nurtured, held and understood.  Soothed.  When everything has that golden light and is flooded with warmth, like holding a hot pebble from the beach in your palm, while your fingers close tightly around it.  (Which happened yesterday in my session, incidentally, in an extremely personal and in-depth conversation about music and what it means to me/has meant to me in the past.  Plus three separate episodes of what seemed to be mind reading, as well as a trio of very cute “ahhhhhh!”s, that ended up being uttered alongside whatever it was that I was saying at the time.  Haha <3).  

It’s not a song that’s worth of dissertation-length analysis, unlike yesterday’s; it’s just a song that spoke to me in a way that none have been able to in the last couple of weeks.  More musically than lyrically, but the lyrics are still relatable, in the sense that I’m going through some enormous changes right now, so enormous that reborn is a very apposite description.  What a beautiful, healing song.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlBBGq5i4GI (for some reason this won’t embed and it’s highly annoying)

 

New world forming 
Picturesque in its stance 
Midnight calling 
Moonlight shadows start to dance 

For the dark finds ways of being 
Engraved in the light 
And the heart bears indentations 
Of yesterdays hurting child 
And now we will run with smiles 
The morrow will heal the night so 
Morning comes 
Midnight make fast with the sun 
I can hear my name be reborn 
On the cloud within the sky beneath the dawn 

Oh I 
Serenade the dawn 
Serenade the dawn 
Serenade the dawn 

For the dark finds ways of being 
Engraved in the light 
And the heart bears indentations 
Of yesterdays hurting child 

And now we will run with smiles 
The morrow will heal the night so 
Morning comes 
Midnight make fast with the sun 
I can hear my name be reborn 
On the cloud within the sky beneath the dawn 

Oh I 
Serenade the dawn 
Serenade the dawn 
Serenade the dawn

 

Leave a Reply

