Song for 27th April 2014 [Tori Amos – Little Earthquakes (live)]

A great post from a friend about music, what it means, the effect it can have and the perception of it changing over time (something I fully relate to). Wonderful.

Sequinned Mannequin

I think it is probably not a good sign that I have been listening a lot to the music I listened to when I was a desperately depressed late-teenager. I’ve been meaning to write a post about the Tori story for a long while now, and now is still not the right time, but suffice to say I discovered Tori Amos when I was 14 and it changed my life in a variety of ways. It was the first time I really understood what music could do, how it could speak, the power of someone articulating all the things I hardly even knew I was trying to say. Along with the music came the community – at a time when I’m sure Tori fans made up at least 50% of internet-users, the online world was a very different place and a safe haven (mostly) for the types of melancholy, damaged…

View original post 730 more words

Leave a Reply

